Our Faith From A to Z

Our Faith From A to Z

Published in 2014 by Concordia Publishing House (CPH), this is Ruth's first book. It's labeled as a children's book, but the explanations written on the bottom of each page are helpful for older students and even adults who wish to learn more about the key concepts. An excellent idea for a sponsor or grandchild gift, available from CPH or Amazon.

Overview (taken from the CPH website)

Introduce elementary school children to important theology terms and concepts they hear at church, catechism instruction, and home.

Our Faith from A to Z invites kids to discover new words with a poem that weaves together 26 terms and explanations in alphabetical order. Each page features one term from the poem, an illustration of that term, and an encyclopedic-style definition. For example:

“Kyrie” means “Lord.” In the divine service we find a form of the liturgical prayer called “Kyrie elesion.” In it we pray, “Lord, have mercy, Christ, have mercy, Lord have mercy.” The Kyrie comes shortly after the confession and absolution of sins. In the Kyrie we are asking God to hear and answer our prayers according to His holy will.

The Divine Service may also include short petitions, such as “for the peace from above and for our salvation, let us pray to the Lord,” to which the response is “Lord, have mercy.” The use of the Kyrie in liturgical worship dates to the first century, but even throughout the Bible there are many examples of people crying to the Lord for mercy.

Grace Alone

Grace Alone

Grace Alone is a story for anyone who's ever made a mistake. This debut novel from Ruth Meyer is a story about forgiveness, hope, and grace in the midst of a messy life, because God specializes in new beginnings.

Grace Williams isn't looking for complications because, really, isn't life complicated enough? She's a single mom with four children. She has unresolved issues with her ex-husband. Her sister nags her about going to church. Her kids are not perfect. And neither is Grace – she has hang-ups about organized religion, she is overwhelmed by suppressed guilt and grief, she is judgmental, and she can't control her hair.

When a man shows up on Grace's doorstep, her life is turned upside down. David is terrific with her kids, she loves his family, and her sister thinks he's perfect. But he's a little too pushy. And he wants her to change.

Grace Alone is available at CPH or Amazon. Check out this review from an Amazon customer, posted on March 18, 2017:

I thought this book was SO GOOD that I want to encourage the author to write another fiction book. I can't believe that it doesn't have more reviews. By the way, I am a “straight”, married, middle-aged man, so if I thought it was good, then I think the book will definitely appeal to others in other age/gender groups.

Funny parts, sad parts, many happy parts. Enough suspense to keep you interested, but not enough that it is too stressful for a nice relaxing read.

Get a sneak peek at the first chapter   CPH “Q and A with Ruth Meyer.”

Faith Alone

Faith Alone

Grace Neunaber has finally found happiness. After struggling for years as a single mother of four, she's thrilled about her newfound faith and her marriage to a strong Christian man. But as David is added to their family of five, her enthusiasm is quickly dampened by her older children's open hostility and resentment toward their new father.

For Grace's daughter, Faith, having a principal for a step-dad is only one of the downsides. Her parents are nosy, restrictive, and most of all embarrassing. But Faith's issues with her parents are quickly shoved aside when she's faced with a decision that will change the course of her future.

Each member of the Neunaber family will have to rely on their faith in God if their strained relationships are going to knit them closer together instead of tear their family apart.

Faith Alone is available on